Had I…

Had I…

 

Had I, a great husband…

I would never know the world the way I do.

I wouldn’t have needed to look.

Had I, not the husband of nightmares…

I wouldn’t have ever learned how to dream.

Had I, a husband who never made me cry…

I’d never know tears of happiness.

Had I, not been a disobedient, fractured wife…

I’d never had discovered the beauty,

in a world still filled with monsters.

Had I, not had a fatal marriage…

I’d never know the joys of living.

I seek not pity, for I am blessed…

To stand before you, a richer lady of refinement and grace.

With love and compassion learned from beloved hate.

 

~2017  Ruth Ann Cutler

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

